Ivy program

Letter to investors

April 2018

Market commentary

sparklines
A few year-to-date price changes

Markets often react more to the noise around information than to information itself. For April, we have had our fair bit of it. Consider North Korea, which is now busy showing bouts of diplomacy towards its southern neighbor as well as towards the United States. If this “kindness” after the saber rattling proves genuine, what to make of the situation in Syria and Iran? Should we expect more boldness ahead for everybody to be able to claim victory later?

Aside from the media frenzy, the European Central Bank (ECB) has made some inconspicuous moves. It has reduced the size of its corporate sector purchase programme (CSPP), which now amounts to 700 million euros a week, that is, half its size beginning of the year. Is it an intentional endeavour by the ECB towards a complete halt of the programme in September, or a technical slow down? In any case, if the CSPP has helped tighten the credit spreads since 2016, then credit markets will become more sensitive to shocks going forward, without the ECB contributions.

On the other side of the pond, the Fed is on track with the normalization of rates, and markets do take notice with the 10 year Treasury rate having crossed the 3% rate from below end of April. This level is becoming more attractive for yield-seeking investors. We do believe however that there is more room to go on the way up for long term rates. High yield spreads, which were seen as a pocket of yield in fixed income those last few years, should normalize as well. The rate hikes cycle should bring more volatility to the sector and spreads will be back to their long term average. Usually during a hiking cycle, default rates do follow (they increase) with a lag of a few quarters. There is no evidence yet of higher default rates, but they deserve a closer look going forward: corporate debt is at its highest in the US, at 100% of the GDP.

In the commodity space, oil remains on its bullish trend on the wake of tensions in Syria and Iran. Brent now stands firmly above the important $70 threshold.

Coming to equities, April has been a month of dispersion globally: European markets have gone up, some markedly (like France CAC40), US equities have stalled and China has suffered 5% losses over the month.

FX wise, the dollar is firmer against the euro. The euro is back around 1.20 after having reached 1.24 to the dollar recently. The DXY dollar index is also back above 90, having climbed 4.5% in April.

The Ivy program has seen its allocation evolve significantly so far this year. We are currently allocating more to commodities than usual for instance. We believe that the flexibility and the diversity of exposures brought by the program are a must in the current uncertain market environment. As of end of April, the program is down 1.2% for the year, ready for any hurdle.

Our convictions

Market convictions and active views
The graphs show our current market convictions from -100% (maximum bearish) to +100% (maximum bullish).
For each asset class, our highest and lowest three convictions are shown.

eq_conv
fi_conv
cm_conv
re_conv

Ivy program YTD

ptfl_pnl
Highest positive contributions
+0.99% US 10Y T-Note
+0.56% Sugar 11
+0.52% United States Oil Fund LP
+0.38% Gas Oil
Highest negative contributions
-0.77% FTSE 100
-0.54% SMI
-0.50% Palladium
-0.49% High Grade Copper

Performance and positions

The Ivy strategy yearly performance for 2018 stands at -1.2% as of end of April.

Gains in 2018 come from short positions on US rates, from various commodity positions (including shorts on sugar and live cattle and longs on gasoil and crude oil), from some equity positions (technology sector) and being long convertible bonds.

Losses during the year come for the most part from specific futures positions on equity indices (Footsie100, SMI), and on some commodities (corn, copper, platinum).

A more detailed performance analysis is shown thereafter.

As per our convictions, we are now mildly bullish (almost neutral) on equities. For bonds, we still favor convertibles which benefit from an increased volatility. We are bearish on long term US, Canada and European rates. For real estate, we favor the ex US instruments, and we are now moderately bearish on US REITs.
In the commodity space, we are bearish on natural gas and sugar, while we are bullish on gold and crude oil.

klass_pnls@etf@0
klass_pnls@etf@1
klass_pnls@etf@2
klass_pnls@etf@3

Performance contribution of ETFs

The graphs (one by asset class) show the contribution to performance of ETFs since January 1st 2018 (in USD).

klass_pnls@futures@0
klass_pnls@futures@1
klass_pnls@futures@2

Performance contribution of futures

The graphs (one by asset class) show the contribution to performance of the futures since January 1st 2018 (in USD).

Risk contributions

Risk contributions (component VaR 95% 1-day)

The graphs show how a position contributes to the combined portfolio VaR (Value at Risk). A positive number indicates that the position generally moves in the same direction as the overall portfolio. A negative number means the opposite, indicating that the position diminishes the overall portfolio risk level.

For each asset class, we are showing the largest and lowest three contributions to risk.

eq_var
fi_var
cm_var
re_var

Focus on a trade

The sugar futures contract we trade is the most liquid: the number 11 raw sugar (sugarcane). Beet sugar represents about 20% of the global production while cane sugar has the largest share (80%).

Overall, sugar has a structural issue of overproduction which might linger for at least two more years. The International Sugar Organization (ISO) estimates the annual overproduction to be at 5 million tonnes (2.5% of global demand). Let us analyze some of the players involved. The European Union produces beet sugar (half of the global production) and is also a large importer of cane sugar. The production quotas that had been in place since 1968 were waived by the European Union in Dec 2017. This has had indirect effects on cane sugar prices (substitution effect). We also have had larger than expected production of cane sugar in India and Thailand, while global consumption is only marginally up. Brazil is a very important producer of sugar cane. Neither energy prices, nor the exchange rate of the Brazilian real has helped support prices. Indeed energy prices are on the way up, which incentivizes the production of ethanol in place of raw sugar.

The Ivy program has been able to trade the downward trend of that commodity, sugar n°11. The graph shows the total contribution of the position on the portfolio performance from the beginning of the year, with large gains this month. This market also brings an interesting diversification to the portfolio.

trade_pnl

Key points and benchmarking

Strengths of the Ivy program
Deep learning Swiss made
Tail risk protection & crisis alpha Daily liquidity
benchmark_pnl
Metrics Ivy 12 SG CTA Trend Index S&P500 20Y Treasury Bond
Annualized return 12.55% 5.19% 5.26% 6.81%
Volatility 10.48% 13.34% 19.35% 12.75%
Sharpe ratio 1.1 0.37 0.27 0.52
Max. drawdown 13.29% 21.66% 55.20% 26.59%
Correlation with Ivy - 0.54 0.26 0.12

Conditions

The Ivy Deep Learning strategy is currently available as a managed account with a minimum investment size of 500’000 CHF/EUR/USD/GBP.
Ivy Deep Learning is also available through a certificate to be issued on May the 22nd with ISIN code DE000A2MDNL3.
Please contact us for more information.

Want to know more?

laptop

Discover Ivy in a unique and interactive way by clicking on the below link:

Interactive Ivy portfolio

pen

And contact us

+41 22 342 47 01

Programme Ivy

Lettre aux investisseurs

Avril 2018

Commentaire marchés

sparklines
Quelques évolutions de prix Year-to-date

Bien souvent les marchés ont tendance à réagir bien plus au bruit que génèrent les flux d’informations qu’aux informations elles-mêmes. Pour ce mois d’avril, on peut dire qu’ils ont fluctué au gré des rumeurs et des interprétations. Prenons la Corée du Nord qui, pour éviter une frappe préventive américaine, a été soudainement prise par des élans de diplomatie avec la Corée du Sud. Cette « bonne volonté » affichée par Kim Jong-un a été bien interprétée par les marchés, qui ont occulté pendant une courte période les tensions liées à la Syrie et à l’Iran.

Dans le petit monde des banques centrales, le bruit se fait parfois plus mesuré. La Banque Centrale Européenne par exemple pourrait-elle être en train d’agir de manière discrète pour diminuer l’ampleur de son programme de rachat d’obligations d’entreprises (CSPP) ? Depuis début avril 2018, celui-ci représente environ 700 millions d’euros par semaine, c’est à dire moitié moins qu’en début d’année. S’agit-il d’une volonté délibérée de la BCE d’effectuer une transition en douceur vers un arrêt complet en septembre, ou bien d’un simple ralentissement « technique » ? Si le CSPP a alimenté le resserrement des spreads de crédit de manière mécanique depuis 2016, alors le marché du crédit va redevenir beaucoup plus sensible aux chocs. Sans le soutien de la BCE, il faut s’attendre à des mouvements plus amples sur ces spreads, et notamment sur la partie de la dette la moins bien notée.

De l’autre côté de l’Atlantique, la Réserve Fédérale américaine continue sa « normalisation » et le marché en tient compte, le taux 10 ans dépassant le niveau symbolique des 3% fin avril. Ce niveau redevient plus attrayant pour les investisseurs en recherche de rendement. Néanmoins nous pensons que les taux longs vont continuer à augmenter. Le high yield, qui permettait de trouver du rendement sur le marché obligataire dans un environnement de taux bas ces dernières années, devrait continuer à se normaliser. La phase de remontée des taux devrait également apporter plus de volatilité au sein de ce secteur. Les spreads sont encore loin de leurs niveaux historiques. D’habitude, lors d’une remontée de taux directeurs, les taux de défaut ont tendance à suivre avec un retard de quelques trimestres. Pour le moment, les taux actuels n’entraînent pas une augmentation des taux de défaut. Mais il conviendra de les surveiller de près : la dette d’entreprises représente en effet actuellement 100% du PIB aux États-Unis, soit son plus haut niveau historique.

Sur le front des matières premières, l’or noir se maintient dans une tendance haussière sur fond de tensions en Syrie et en Iran. Le Brent s’est d’ailleurs installé durablement au-dessus de l’important seuil psychologique des 70$.

Sur les marchés actions, avril a offert une situation contrastée. Les marchés européens ont eu tendance à remonter, certains fortement (comme le CAC40). Les marchés US ont fait du surplace. Et c’est du côté de la Chine que l’on retrouve les moins bonnes performances avec des replis de 5% en moyenne sur le mois, les tensions commerciales ayant affecté les indices de Shanghai.

Sur le front des devises, le dollar regagne un peu de terrain face à l’euro. Après des plus hauts à 1,24, la paire revient en direction des 1,20. Le dollar index DXY grimpe, lui, de 4,5% et revient au-dessus des 90.

Le programme Ivy a fait évoluer son exposition de manière significative cette année. Nous portons notamment davantage qu’à l’accoutumée notre attention sur les matières premières. Nous pensons que la flexibilité et la diversité des expositions offertes par le programme Ivy sont absolument nécessaires dans l’environnement de marché actuel. À fin avril, le programme est en repli de 1,2% sur l’année, paré à toute éventualité.

Nos convictions actuelles

Convictions de marché et paris actifs
Les graphiques montrent nos convictions actuelles par marché, allant de -100% (maximum bearish) à +100% (maximum bullish).
Pour chaque classe d’actifs, nous montrons nos trois convictions les plus hautes et nos trois les plus basses.

eq_conv
fi_conv
cm_conv
re_conv

Programme Ivy YTD

ptfl_pnl
Contributions à la hausse les plus significatives
+0.99% US 10Y T-Note
+0.56% Sugar 11
+0.52% United States Oil Fund LP
+0.38% Gas Oil
Contributions à la baisse les plus significatives
-0.77% FTSE 100
-0.54% SMI
-0.50% Palladium
-0.49% High Grade Copper

Performance et positions

La stratégie Ivy réalise une performance de -1,2% en 2018 à fin avril.

Les gains sur l’année 2018 proviennent de positions short sur les produits de taux US, de diverses positions sur les matières premières (notamment short sucre, short live cattle (bétail), long gasoil, et long pétrole), de certaines positions actions (le secteur technologique notamment, géré de manière dynamique) et les obligations convertibles.

Les pertes sur l’année proviennent pour l’essentiel de positions futures sur actions (Footsie100, SMI) et sur certaines matières premières (maïs, cuivre, platine).

Une décomposition plus fine de la performance est détaillée ci-après.

En termes de convictions, nous sommes très modérément bullish (presque neutres) sur les actions. Pour les obligations, nous privilégions toujours les convertibles, qui profitent du regain de volatilité. Nous sommes bearish sur les taux longs US, les taux canadiens et les taux européens. Pour l’immobilier, nous privilégions l’immobilier ex US et nos convictions sont désormais modérément bearish sur l’immobilier US (REIT), lui aussi sensible à la remontée des taux.
Enfin sur les matières premières, nos convictions restent baissières sur le gaz naturel et le sucre. Nous sommes bullish en revanche sur le pétrole et l’or.

klass_pnls@etf@0
klass_pnls@etf@1
klass_pnls@etf@2
klass_pnls@etf@3

Contribution des ETFs à la performance

Les graphiques ci-contre (un par classe d’actifs) illustrent leur contribution à la performance depuis le 1er janvier 2018 (en USD).

klass_pnls@futures@0
klass_pnls@futures@1
klass_pnls@futures@2

Contribution des futures à la performance

Les graphiques ci-contre (un par classe d’actifs) illustrent la contribution des futures à la performance depuis le 1er janvier 2018 (en USD).

Contributions au risque du portefeuille

Contributions au risque (component VaR 95% 1-day)

Les graphiques montrent comment nos positions contribuent à la VaR (Value at Risk) totale du portefeuille. Les contributions positives vont dans le même sens que le risque du portefeuille dans son ensemble, les contributions négatives sont celles des positions diminuant le risque global du portefeuille.

Pour chaque classe d’actifs, nous montrons les trois contributions les plus hautes et les trois les plus basses.

eq_var
fi_var
cm_var
re_var

Focus sur un trade: sucre

Le contrat futures sur le sucre que nous traitons est celui le plus liquide. Il s’agit du sucre brut N°11, qui fait référence exclusivement au sucre de canne. Le sucre de betterave représente environ 20% de la production mondiale et le sucre de canne les 80% restants.

D’une manière générale, le sucre présente une problématique structurelle de surproduction qui perdure. L’organisation internationale du sucre (ISO) estime le surplus annuel de production à plus de cinq millions de tonnes (2,5% de la demande mondiale). Cette situation devrait se prolonger durant les deux prochaines années au moins. Faisons un tour d’une partie des participants à ce marché et des changements les ayant impactés récemment. L’union européenne produit du sucre de betterave (la moitié de la production mondiale), et est par ailleurs un gros importateur de sucre de canne. Les quotas de production de sucre, qui existaient depuis 1968, ont été levés par l’union européenne depuis fin 2017. Ceci a des répercussions indirectes sur les prix du sucre de canne, par effet de substitution. La production de sucre a par ailleurs été plus importante que prévue en Inde et en Thaïlande, alors que la consommation mondiale n’est qu’en hausse très modérée. Le Brésil lui est un très gros producteur de sucre de canne. Ni les prix de l’énergie, ni le taux de change de la devise brésilienne n’apportent de soutien au sucre. En effet les prix de l’énergie sont remontés et se stabilisent à un niveau plus élevé, incitant de ce fait au Brésil à la production d’éthanol au lieu de sucre brut, tous deux fabriqués à partir de la canne à sucre.

Le programme Ivy a pu capturer la tendance baissière sur cette matière première (sucre n°11). Le graphique ci-dessous montre la contribution totale de la position sur le portefeuille depuis le début d’année, avec des gains importants matérialisés ce mois. Ce marché apporte également une diversification importante au reste du portefeuille.

trade_pnl

Points forts et benchmarking

Points forts du programme Ivy
Deep learning Swiss made
Tail risk protection & crisis alpha Daily liquidity
benchmark_pnl
Metrics Ivy 12 SG CTA Trend Index S&P500 20Y Treasury Bond
Annualized return 12.55% 5.19% 5.26% 6.81%
Volatility 10.48% 13.34% 19.35% 12.75%
Sharpe ratio 1.1 0.37 0.27 0.52
Max. drawdown 13.29% 21.66% 55.20% 26.59%
Correlation with Ivy - 0.54 0.26 0.12

Conditions

La stratégie Ivy Deep Learning est accessible sous forme de managed account dès 500’000 CHF/EUR/USD/GBP.
Ivy Deep Learning est également disponible sous forme d’un certificat émis très prochainement, le 22 mai 2018, et dont le code ISIN est DE000A2MDNL3.
Contactez-nous pour de plus amples informations.

Pour en savoir plus

laptop

Découvrez Ivy de manière interactive en cliquant ci-dessous:

Portefeuille interactif Ivy

pen

Et contactez-nous

+41 22 342 47 01