Ivy program

Letter to investors

June 2018

The month in a few words

News and Markets


Allocation

Market commentary

sparklines
A few year-to-date price changes

Markets have stumbled in the first half of the year, intoxicated it seems from too much directionality and clear trends. We are now recovering from the hangover, by experiencing a somewhat chaotic, although not intense yet, trading range. In the last week of June, investors got tired of the unconstant weather and withdrew 29 billions from equity markets. All the tit for tat around tarriffs can certainly be a worrying factor, but is there more to read than a end of semester window dressing in recent flows? Should we expect a broader derisking? For now certains areas look tense, in some emerging markets notably, while we reach new highs in some other areas, like US technology stocks.

In any case what we observe is a larger divergence, in market performance and in economic expectations. Central banks for now tend to stay the course and are providing the needed anchor. The ECB has confirmed it will stop its QE program end of this year, by halving it to 15 billions a month in the last quarter before terminating it. The Fed hiked by 25 more basis points in June, its 7th hike since end of 2015. The Fed has stopped surprising us. Where there is a bit more change is in China, with liquidity boosted through a diminution of the reserve ratio for certain banks. This ratio sets the quantity of money that banks have to keep at the central bank. That decrease in the reserve ratio will free up 108 billions dollars, in an intent to support smaller companies, and maybe to counter a bit the recent trade tensions with the US. As such and for now central banks do not overreact and we anticipate a stabilization of economic growth from the slightly reduced recent level.

As far as Europe is concerned, where to invest? We favor France and the UK (hedged against currency risk). We believe the dollar has more room to go, which can support European equities. At the same time the economy has been slowing down a bit in recent months. If we look more closely at Italy and Spain, we should not expect high confidence levels, and in turn no pick up in growth. We need to pay attention at the same time to Germany, which would suffer from a strenghtening of trade tensions, not to mention the political situation with the coalition having earned a respite early July, but for how long? The ECB might not have all the necessary room to act as it intends in the coming year, and this means divergences could strengthen. The dollar could well keep rising for some time.

The Ivy program has seen its allocation evolve significantly so far this year. We are currently allocating more to commodities than usual for instance. We believe that the flexibility and the diversity of exposures brought by the program are a must in the current uncertain market environment. As of end of June, the program is down 2.8% for the year, and ready to adapt to any incoming market moves.

Our convictions

Market convictions and active views
The graphs show our current market convictions from -100% (maximum bearish) to +100% (maximum bullish).
For each asset class, our highest and lowest three convictions are shown.

eq_conv
fi_conv
cm_conv
re_conv

Ivy program YTD

ptfl_pnl
Highest positive contributions
+1.08% United States Oil Fund LP
+0.56% Low Sulphur Gas Oil
+0.55% Brent Crude
+0.49% US 10Y T-Note
Highest negative contributions
-0.85% Corn
-0.78% FTSE 100
-0.58% High Grade Copper
-0.55% SMI

Performance and positions

The Ivy strategy yearly performance for 2018 stands at -2.8% as of end of June.

Gains in 2018 come from short positions on US rates, from various commodity positions (including longs on gasoil and crude oil), from some equity positions (technology, discretionary consumption and health sectors) and being long convertible bonds.

Losses during the year come for the most part from short positions on Canadian rates, specific futures positions on equity indices (Footsie100, SMI), and on some commodities (corn, copper, palladium).

A more detailed performance analysis is shown thereafter.

As per our convictions, we are mildly bullish, almost neutral, on equities. For bonds, we still favor convertibles which benefit from an increased volatility. We have decreased our exposures on long term US and Canada bonds and are long bunds and gilts. For real estate, we favor the ex US instruments.
In the commodity space, we are bearish on sugar and bullish on gold and crude oil.

klass_pnls@etf@0
klass_pnls@etf@1
klass_pnls@etf@2
klass_pnls@etf@3

Performance contribution of ETFs

The graphs (one by asset class) show the contribution to performance of ETFs since January 1st 2018 (in USD).

klass_pnls@futures@0
klass_pnls@futures@1
klass_pnls@futures@2

Performance contribution of futures

The graphs (one by asset class) show the contribution to performance of the futures since January 1st 2018 (in USD).

Risk contributions

Risk contributions (component VaR 95% 1-day)

The graphs show how a position contributes to the combined portfolio VaR (Value at Risk). A positive number indicates that the position generally moves in the same direction as the overall portfolio. A negative number means the opposite, indicating that the position diminishes the overall portfolio risk level.

For each asset class, we are showing the largest and lowest three contributions to risk.

eq_var
fi_var
cm_var
re_var

Key points and benchmarking

Strengths of the Ivy program
Deep learning Swiss made
Tail risk protection & crisis alpha Daily liquidity
benchmark_pnl
Metrics Ivy 12 SG CTA Trend Index S&P500 20Y Treasury Bond
Annualized return 12.20% 5.04% 5.38% 6.94%
Volatility 10.23% 13.31% 19.28% 12.73%
Sharpe ratio 1.1 0.36 0.27 0.53
Max. drawdown 13.63% 21.66% 55.20% 26.59%
Correlation with Ivy - 0.56 0.27 0.13

Conditions

The Ivy Deep Learning strategy is currently available as a managed account with a minimum investment size of 500’000 CHF/EUR/USD/GBP.

Ivy Deep Learning is also available through a certificate for qualified investors which ISIN code is DE000A2MDNL3.
The daily price of the certificate is available online: Price of the certificate

Please contact us for more information.

Want to know more?

laptop

Discover Ivy in a unique and interactive way by clicking on the below link:

Interactive Ivy portfolio

pen

And contact us

+41 22 310 69 51

Programme Ivy

Lettre aux investisseurs

Juin 2018

Le mois en quelques mots

News et Marchés


L'allocation

Commentaire marchés

sparklines
Quelques évolutions de prix Year-to-date

Les difficultés qu’ont rencontrées les marchés auront été assez brèves ce premier semestre. Mais suffisamment importantes pour faire ressurgir le spectre d’une fin de cycle économique. Le vieil adage « trend is your friend » n’aura pas fait long feu, les mouvements erratiques répétés ont entraîné les principaux marchés actions dans un « trading range » plutôt chaotique. D’ailleurs, dans la dernière semaine de juin, les investisseurs ont décidé de sortir massivement des marchés actions, le montant retiré s’élevant à 29 milliards de dollars. Il paraît évident que les gesticulations du président Trump autour de sa guerre commerciale avec la Chine ont de quoi inquiéter, surtout que la dernière rumeur en date faisait état d’une sortie des États-Unis de l’OMC (l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce). Mais est-ce vraiment un dérisking sur le marché actions ou bien un simple habillage de bilan de fin de semestre? L’été nous le dira assez vite.

La « reprise synchronisée » au niveau mondial s'éloigne un peu, et des divergences entre grandes zones économiques apparaissent. Du côté de la BCE et de la Fed, le cap est maintenu. La BCE a confirmé mi-juin qu’elle arrêterait son vaste programme de rachats d’actifs pour atteindre en fin d’année 15mds au lieu des 30mds actuels. Outre Atlantique, la Fed a effectué sa 7ème hausse de taux de 25bps depuis fin 2015 sans surprise et a clarifié sa feuille de route pour la fin d’année et le début de 2019, la Fed ne surprend plus. Du côté de la Chine par contre, on s'inquiète des tensions commerciales et des liquidités sont injectées dans l'économie, via une baisse du ratio de réserve de 0,5% pour certaines banques. Ce ratio détermine la quantité d'argent que les banques doivent "parquer" auprès de la banque centrale, et cette décision va ainsi débloquer 108 milliards de dollars, en soutien notamment des plus petites entreprises. Pour le moment, les banques centrales ne surréagissent donc pas et nous anticipons une stabilisation de la croissance après la baisse récente sans amélioration majeure à court/moyen terme.

Même si la route est tracée pour les grands argentiers, investir en Europe n'est pas si aisé. Entre la remontée du dollar exacerbée par une croissance insolente aux États-Unis et les signes de faiblesse récents dont fait preuve le vieux continent, la situation devient moins claire. Si l’on regarde de plus près l’actualité concernant l’Italie et l’Espagne on constate clairement qu’il ne faut pas s’attendre à des niveaux de confiance très élevés et par sympathie à une croissance forte. Mais si en plus dans le même temps, le cœur d’activité du vieux continent, c’est à dire l’Allemagne, procède à l’éclatement de sa fragile coalition gouvernementale nous pourrions très bien assister à un ralentissement plus marqué de l’économie européenne pour la fin d'année. La BCE n'aura pas toute la latitude pour agir, et ceci continuera à accentuer les divergences monétaires et économiques, le renforcement du dollar n'étant pas forcément fini.

Le programme Ivy a fait évoluer son exposition de manière significative cette année. Nous portons notamment davantage qu’à l’accoutumée notre attention sur les matières premières. Nous pensons que la flexibilité et la diversité des expositions offertes par le programme Ivy sont absolument nécessaires dans l’environnement de marché actuel. À fin juin, le programme est en repli de 2.8% sur l’année, prêt à s'adapter aux évolutions des marchés à venir.

Nos convictions actuelles

Convictions de marché et paris actifs
Les graphiques montrent nos convictions actuelles par marché, allant de -100% (maximum bearish) à +100% (maximum bullish).
Pour chaque classe d’actifs, nous montrons nos trois convictions les plus hautes et nos trois les plus basses.

eq_conv
fi_conv
cm_conv
re_conv

Programme Ivy YTD

ptfl_pnl
Contributions à la hausse les plus significatives
+1.08% United States Oil Fund LP
+0.56% Low Sulphur Gas Oil
+0.55% Brent Crude
+0.49% US 10Y T-Note
Contributions à la baisse les plus significatives
-0.85% Corn
-0.78% FTSE 100
-0.58% High Grade Copper
-0.55% SMI

Performance et positions

La stratégie Ivy réalise une performance de -2.8% en 2018 à fin juin.

Les gains sur l’année 2018 proviennent de positions short sur les produits de taux US, de diverses positions sur les matières premières (notamment long gasoil, et long pétrole), de certaines positions actions (les secteurs de la technologie, de la santé et des biens de consommation cycliques) et les obligations convertibles.

Les pertes sur l’année proviennent de positions short sur les taux canadiens, de positions futures sur actions (Footsie100, SMI) et sur certaines matières premières (maïs, cuivre, palladium).

Une décomposition plus fine de la performance est détaillée ci-après.

En termes de convictions, nous restons modérément bullish (presque neutres) sur les actions. Pour les obligations, nous privilégions toujours les convertibles, qui profitent du regain de volatilité. Nous avons diminué notre exposition sur les taux longs US et canadiens et sommes long bunds et gilts. Pour l’immobilier, nous privilégions l’immobilier ex US.
Enfin sur les matières premières, nos convictions restent baissières sur le sucre. Nous sommes bullish sur le pétrole et l’or.

klass_pnls@etf@0
klass_pnls@etf@1
klass_pnls@etf@2
klass_pnls@etf@3

Contribution des ETFs à la performance

Les graphiques ci-contre (un par classe d’actifs) illustrent leur contribution à la performance depuis le 1er janvier 2018 (en USD).

klass_pnls@futures@0
klass_pnls@futures@1
klass_pnls@futures@2

Contribution des futures à la performance

Les graphiques ci-contre (un par classe d’actifs) illustrent la contribution des futures à la performance depuis le 1er janvier 2018 (en USD).

Contributions au risque du portefeuille

Contributions au risque (component VaR 95% 1-day)

Les graphiques montrent comment nos positions contribuent à la VaR (Value at Risk) totale du portefeuille. Les contributions positives vont dans le même sens que le risque du portefeuille dans son ensemble, les contributions négatives sont celles des positions diminuant le risque global du portefeuille.

Pour chaque classe d’actifs, nous montrons les trois contributions les plus hautes et les trois les plus basses.

eq_var
fi_var
cm_var
re_var

Points forts et benchmarking

Points forts du programme Ivy
Deep learning Swiss made
Tail risk protection & crisis alpha Daily liquidity
benchmark_pnl
Metrics Ivy 12 SG CTA Trend Index S&P500 20Y Treasury Bond
Annualized return 12.20% 5.04% 5.38% 6.94%
Volatility 10.23% 13.31% 19.28% 12.73%
Sharpe ratio 1.1 0.36 0.27 0.53
Max. drawdown 13.63% 21.66% 55.20% 26.59%
Correlation with Ivy - 0.56 0.27 0.13

Conditions

La stratégie Ivy Deep Learning est accessible sous forme de managed account dès 500’000 CHF/EUR/USD/GBP.

Ivy Deep Learning est également disponible sous forme d’un certificat dont le code ISIN est DE000A2MDNL3.
Le cours quotidien du certificat est disponible en ligne: Cours du certificat

Contactez-nous pour de plus amples informations.

Pour en savoir plus

laptop

Découvrez Ivy de manière interactive en cliquant ci-dessous:

Portefeuille interactif Ivy

pen

Et contactez-nous

+41 22 310 69 51